Eddies 2021 Hall of Fame and Award Show dates are announced for fall 2020

SARATOGA SPRINGS – Jocelyn and Chris were the big winners during the second annual Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards broadcast Sunday from Universal Preservation Hall. The event was presented by KeyBank.

The siblings, who debuted their next single “Sugar and Spice” while performing with a full band during the broadcast, won Album of the Year, Video of the Year and Solo / Duo Artist of the Year. Record of the Year went to the Gibson Brothers, who also won Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year. The other two-time winner was WEXT which won Radio Station of the Year and whose Chris Wienk won Radio DJ of the Year. Awards were announced in 34 categories.

The awards show – twice rescheduled during the pandemic – was shot on a closed set in UPH’s Great Hall with four musical performances and four panel discussion on how artists, technicians, venue owners and others pivoted during the pandemic. The panels were hosted by WEQX’s Jeff Morad and WEXT’s Andy Gregory.

Also performing Sunday were Marty Wendell, a 2020 Eddies Music Award nominee for Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year; bandleader/vocalist/instrumentalist/songwriter Garland Nelson, a two-time 2019 Eddies Music Awards winner; and Schenectady native Promise The Unbreakable™, nominated for Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year in 2019 and again this year. Nelson did double-duty as show emcee.

The show, filmed by Chromoscope Pictures of Troy, is available free on demand through Collaborative Studios’ Amazon Fire TV, Roku and Apple TV apps and on YouTube. Collaborative Studios and the Eddies Music Awards are initiatives of Proctors Collaborative.

The 2021 Eddies Music Awards Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held Thursday, Oct. 28 and the Eddies Music Awards Show on Sunday, Nov. 14. Both events will be staged at Universal Preservation Hall, home of the Eddies Music Hall of Fame.

Here is a complete list of winners:

Music Journalist of the Year
Katie Cusack (The Collaborative)

Arts Publication of the Year

Radio DJ of the Year
Chris Wienk (WEXT)

Radio Station of the Year

Photographer of the Year
Kiki Vassilakis 

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Covers)
Erin Harkes

Party Cover Band of the Year
The Refrigerators

Country Cover Band of the Year
Skeeter Creek 

DJ of the Year
DJ Trumastr

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year
JB aka Dirty Moses

Electronica Artist of the Year 
Bare Mattress

World Music Artist of the Year
Taina Asili y La Banda Rebelde 

Classical Artist of the Year
Albany Pro Musica

Jazz Artist of the Year
Dylan Perrillo

On the Verge Presenter of the Year
Super Dark Collective

Promoter of the Year
Greg Bell (Guthrie Bell Productions)

Live Production Crew of the Year
High Peaks Sound 

Music Recording Studio of the Year
Overit Studios 

Record Label of the Year
Five Kill Records

Best Hang
The Low Beat

Alt / Indie Artist of the Year 
Candy Ambulance

Punk Artist / Hardcore Artist of the Year
Prince Daddy and the Hyena

Metal / Hard Rock Artist of the Year
The  Clay People 

Jam Band of the Year
Let’s Be Leonard

Blues Artist of the Year
Annie and the Hedonists

Americana Artist of the Year
Eastbound Jesus

Folk / Traditional Artist of the Year  
The Sea The Sea

R&B / Soul Artist of the Year
The Age

Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year
The Gibson Brothers

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year
Jocelyn & Chris

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year 
Girl Blue

Music Video of the Year
Jocelyn & Chris
“Outta My Head”

Record of the Year
Gibson Brothers
“Cool Drink of Water”

Album of the Year
Jocelyn and Chris
“The Fun in the Fight”