2019 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Award recipients

The following were honored at the inaugural Eddie Awards on April 14, 2019 at Proctors.

Solo Artist of the Year

Girl Blue

Solo or Duo Performer of the Year (Covers Category)

Rich Ortiz

Alt/Indie Artist of the Year

The Sea The Sea

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year (tie)

Johnny 2 Phones


Party Cover Band of the Year

Garland Nelson and Soul Session

Jazz Artist of the Year

Brian Patneaude Quartet

DJ of the Year

DJ Trumastr

Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year

The Gibson Brothers

Americana Artist of the Year

The North & South Dakotas

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year

Wild Adriatic

Punk/Metal/Hard Rock Artist of the Year

Candy Ambulance

Jam Band of the Year

Let’s Be Leonard

Blues Artist of the Year

Alana Wyld / Wyld Blu

R&B/Soul Artist of the Year

Garland Nelson

Electronica Artist of the Year

Sara Ayers

International/World Music Artist of the Year

Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year

Albany Symphony Orchestra

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year

The McKrells

Music Video of the Year

Girl Blue “Dreams”

Album of the Year (tie)

Elrod + MotherJudge “Cold Warrior”

Wild Adriatic “Feel”

Record of the Year

Girl Blue “Lolita”

Outward Bound Artist of the Year


Promoter or Presenter of the Year

Mona Golub Music Haven Concert Series

Radio DJ of the Year

Chris Wienk WEXT

Concert Series of the Year

Music Haven Concert Series

Live Production Crew of the Year

High Peaks Sound

Arts Publication of the Year


Music Journalist of the Year

Michael Hochanadel

Best Venue Small (up to 350 people)

Caffé Lena

Best Venue Medium (350-999 people)

The Egg

Best Venue Large (1,000 people and up)

Troy Savings Bank Music Hall

Best Live Festival Large Format

Old Songs Festival of Traditional Music & Dance

Best Live Festival Small Format

GottaGetGon Folk Festival

Photographer of the year (tie)

Andre Pilarczyk

Kiki Vassilakis

Capital Region Music Hall of Fame

Artist Lifetime Achievement

Kevin McKrell

Capital Region Music Hall of Fame

Arts Educator or Contributions to the Area Music Scene

Ruth Pelham

People’s Choice

Local Music Artist of the Year

PJ Duo

People’s Choice

Local Music Venue of the Year

Caffè Lena

People’s Choice

Local Concert of the Year

Sawyer Fredericks

Caffè Lena

May 25-27, 2018