Nominations announced for inaugural
Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards
Almost 200 artists, ensembles, venues, sound technicians, educators, journalists and photographers
hope to take home first Eddie!

SCHENECTADY, N.Y.—FEB. 20, 2019—And the Eddie goes to …

Nominees for the inaugural Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards, presented by The Collaborative magazine and Capital Records Live! 6 p.m. Sunday April 14 at Proctors, include 185 artists, ensembles, club owners, sound technicians, educators, journalists and photographers. All candidates were notified last week, and over 60 judges drawn from the region’s music industry are preparing to review materials submitted by nominees in 34 categories.

According to producers Jim Murphy (marketing and corporate development director at Proctors Collaborative and publisher of The Collaborative) and Sal Prizio (program coordinator at Proctors Collaborative), the Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards is “an opportunity to amplify, empower and celebrate professionals working in the area’s wide-ranging music scene.”

The April ceremony will also include two inductions into the Eddies New York Music Hall of Fame: an Artist Lifetime Achievement Award and an Arts Educator Award for Impact on the Community. A People’s Choice Award will be granted for Artist of the Year and Local Concert of the Year.

Tickets for The Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards, $20 advance/$25 door are available at the Box Office at Proctors, 432 State Street, Schenectady; by phone at 518.346.6204; and online at


2019 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards nominees

Solo Artist of the Year

The Age

Girl Blue

Sawyer Fredericks

Pink Noise

Sean Rowe

Buggy Jive

Solo or Duo Performer of the Year (Covers Category)

Alicia Bautista

Chris Dollard

Erin Harkes

Rich Ortiz

PJ Duo

Mia Scirocco

Alt/Indie Artist of the Year

Bear Grass

Blue Ranger

Girl Blue

Sean Rowe

The Sea The Sea

Wild Adriatic

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year

Airline Jay


Johnny 2 Phones

Promise the Unbreakable

Party Cover Band of the Year

The AudioStars

Funk Evolution
Garland Nelson and Soul Session

New York Players
The Refrigerators

Skeeter Creek

Jazz Artist of the Year

Michael Benedict Jazz Vibes

Teresa Broadwell Band

Cliff Brucker
Chuck Lamb

George Muscatello

Brian Patneaude Quartet

DJ of the Year

DJ Element

DJ Ketchup

DJ Siroc
DJ Tall Ass Matt

DJ Trumastr

Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year

Big Sky Country

Eastbound Jesus
Jim Gaudet and the Railroad Boys

The Gibson Brothers

Ramblin Jug Stompers

Skeeter Creek

Americana Artist of the Year

Annie and the Hedonists

The McKrells

Andrew Mirabile
The North & South Dakotas

Olivia Quillio
Red Haired Strangers

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year

The Abyssmals

The Parlor
Pony in the Pancake

The Sea The Sea

Victory Soul Orchestra

Wild Adriatic

Punk/Metal/Hard Rock Artist of the Year

Candy Ambulance
The Clay People

Drug Church
Prince Daddy & The Hyena


Jam Band of the Year


The Deadbeats

Formula 5

Let’s Be Leonard


Ramblers Home

Blues Artist of the Year

Annie and the Hedonists

Mark Tolstrup

Wild Adriatic

Andrew Wheeler

Thomasina Winslow

Alana Wyld/Wyld Blu

RnB/Soul Artist of the Year

The Age

Garland Nelson

Pink Noise

Souly Had

Victory Soul Orchestra

Electronica Artist of the Year

Apostrophe S

Sara Ayers

Bell’s Roar

Lip Talk


Silica Angel

International/World Music Artist of the Year

Taina Asili y La Banda Rebelde

Jorge Gomez—Tiempo Libre

Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra

Maria Zemantauski

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year

Albany Pro Musica
Albany Symphony Orchestra

Musicians of Ma’alwyck

Opera Saratoga
Saint Rose Camerata

Schenectady Symphony Orchestra

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year

Dan Berggren

Drank the Gold

Michael Jerling

The McKrells
Zan & The Winterfolk

Music Video of the Year

Buggy Jive—This Is Not a Pipe (for Rene Magritte)

The Clay People—Colossus
Sawyer Fredericks—Hide your Ghost
The Gibson Brothers—Everybody Hurts
Girl Blue—Dreams
Geoff Gordon—Interlude

Ohzhe—Been Busy

Wordthethirdeye—Shake Well

Album of the Year

Bear Grass—LEFT
Bell’s Roar—We Carry Us
Blue Ranger—Saving a Beauty

Elrod + MotherJudge—Cold Warrior

The Gibson Brothers—Mockingbird

Mark Tolstrup—Northstar

Wild Adriatic—Feel

Record of the Year

The Age—Falling in Love is a Dangerous Thing

Buggy Jive—This Is Not a Pipe (for Rene Magritte)

The Gibson Brothers—Lay Your Body Down

Girl Blue—Lolita
Geoff Gordon—Bad Love

The McKrells—My Big Old Broken Heart

Sean Rowe—I’ll Follow Your Trail

Outward Bound Artist of the Year

Another Michael

Don Dworkin

Hand Habits
Lip Talk

David Malachowski


Promoter or Presenter of the Year

Bee Sides Cassettes
Greg Bell (Guthrie Bell Productions)

Chateau Shows
Ted Etoll (Step Up Presents)
Mona Golub (Music Haven Concert Series)

Super Dark Collective

Radio DJ of the Year

Brian and Chrissy WGNA

Jimmy Barrett WAIX

Andy Gregory WEXT

Bill McCann WCDB

Jeff Morad WEQX

Chris Wienk WEXT

Concert Series of the Year

Alive at Five

Brown’s Summer Sessions

Capital Records Live!

Music Haven Concert Series

Rockin’ on the River

Super Dark Collective

Live Production Crew of the Year

824 Productions

Denis Entertainment Group

Empire Audio
High Peaks Sound
Live Sound Inc

Specialized Audio-Video Inc.

Arts Publication of the Year

The Chronicle

Preview (Times Union)

The Spot 518

Ticket (Daily Gazette)

Music Journalist of the Year

Katie Cusack

Joseph Dalton

Michael Hochanadel

J Hunter
Jim Shahen

Don Wilcock

Best Venue Small (up to 350 people)

Caffé Lena
The Hollow Bar + Kitchen

The Linda
The Low Beat

The Strand Theatre

Best Venue Medium (350-999 people)

Cohoes Music Hall
The Egg
GE Theatre at Proctors

Jupiter Hall
Putnam Place
Van Slyck’s—Rivers Casino & Resort

Best Venue Large (1,000 people and up)

The Palace Performing Arts Center

Saratoga Performing Arts Center

Times Union Center
Troy Savings Bank Music Hall

Upstate Concert Hall

Best Live Festival Large Format

Albany Riverfront Jazz Festival
Albany Tulip Festival
Jazz at the Lake: Lake George Jazz Weekend

Old Songs Festival of Traditional Music & Dance


Best Live Festival Small Format

Babe Fest
Bee Side Fest
Eastbound Throwdown

GottaGetGon Folk Festival
The Summit
Super Dark Collective Halloween Prom

Photographer of the year

Ed Conway

Stanley Johnson

Rudy Lu

Andre Pilarczyk

Shannon Straney

Kiki Vassilakis

People’s Choice Awards in three categories

(Voting will be made public for these three categories, with details to follow)

Artist of the Year
Local Concert of the Year
Venue of the Year

Capital Region Music Hall of Fame Winners
(To Be Announced in April)
Artist Lifetime Achievement
Arts Educator or Contributions to the Area Music Scene