2020 Eddies Awards Nominees/Winners

The 2020 Capital Region Thomas Edison Awards – originally scheduled at Proctors on April 5, 2020 – was held May 2, 2021 from a closed set at Universal Preservation Hall in Saratoga Springs.

Nominees and winners (in bold):

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year

The Age
Jocelyn & Chris Arndt
Taina Asili
The Parlor
Sean Rowe
The Sea The Sea

Alt / Indie Artist of the Year 

The Abyssmals
Candy Ambulance
Pony in the Pancake 
Sky Furrows 

Punk Artist / Hardcore Artist of the Year 

Blood Blood Blood 
Brick by Brick
Eternal Crimes
Mystery Girl
Prince Daddy and the Hyena
Spell Runner

Metal / Hard Rock Artist of the Year

 Black Electric 
The Clay People 
Dirt Church 
Drug Church 
Johnny Booth

Jam Band of the Year 

Annie in the Water 
Glass Pony 
Hartley’s Encore 
Let’s Be Leonard 
The Purple Stuff 

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year 

Jocelyn and Chris Arndt
Bear Grass
Girl Blue
State Champs
Wild Adriatic

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Cover)

Chris Dollard
Dos Amigos
PJ Duo
Erin Harkes
Carmen Lookshire
Rich Ortiz

Party Cover Band of the Year

The Accents
The AudioStars
Bad Chaperones
Funk Evolution
New York Players
The Refrigerators

Country Cover Band of the Year

Big Sky Country 
The Kyle Bourgault Band 
Moonshine Junkies 
Red Haired Strangers
Skeeter Creek
Whisky Highway 

Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year

Blind Crow 
Dyer Switch Band 
Jim Gaudet and the Railroad Boys  
The Gibson Brothers
Three Quarter North 
Marty Wendell 

Americana Artist of the Year

Eastbound Jesus
The Lazy Suns
The Mckrells
The Nellies
North & South Dakotas
Zan & the Winter Folk

Blues Artist of the Year

Amy Ryan Band
Annie and the Hedonists
The George Fletcher Blues Band
The Resonators
Soul Sky
Wyld Blu

Folk / Traditional Artist of the Year  

Drank  The  Gold 
Lost Radio Rounders
Michael Jerling
John Kirk and Trish Miller
The Sea The Sea
Bob Warren

DJ of the Year  

DeeJay Element 
DJ Ketchup 
DJ  Siroc
DJ  Trumastr 
Intell  Hayesfield 

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year

JB aka Dirty Moses
Johnny 2 Phones
Promise the Unbreakable 
Selli Paper

Electronica Artist of the Year 

Bare  Mattress 
Horse Apples 
Major Niño 
Money Montage
Raisi K. (The Raisin Man)  
Soo do koo 

R&B / Soul Artist of the Year

The Age
Charles O’more
Pink Nois
Lee Reh
Souly Had
Victory Soul Orchestra

World Music Artist of the Year

Taina  Asili y La Banda  Rebelde 
Sten & Maria Z 
Alex Torres  & his Latin Orchestra 

Classical Artist of the Year

Albany Pro Musica
Capital Region Wind Ensemble
Musicians of Ma’alwyck
Saint Rose Camerata
Schenectady Symphony Orchestra

Jazz Artist of the Year

Joe Barna
Michael Benedict
Peg Delaney
Chuck Lamb
Dylan Perrillo
Keith Pray

Promoter of the Year

Greg  Bell (Guthrie Bell Productions) 
Ted Etoll (Step Up Presents) 
Mona Golub (Music Haven Concert Series) 
Peter Lesser (The Egg) 
Margie Rosenkranz (eighth step)

“On the Verge” Presenter

Asylum Albany 
Bee Sides  Cassettes
Chateau  Shows 
Little Booking  Agency 
Place for Jazz
Super Dark Collective

Live Production Crew of the Year

Albany Audio   
Denis  Entertainment Group  
High Peaks  Sound
Live  Sound Inc 
Specialized Audio-Video Inc 

Record Label of the Year

Albany Records
Cacophone Records
Equal Vision
Five Kill Records
Magnetic Eye Records
Upstate Records 

Best Hang

Desperate Annie’s
The Low Beat
Oh Bar
Olde English Pub
Speakeasy 518

Music Recording Studio 

AAA Recording Studio 
Blue Sky Recording 
Don Fury Recording Studio 
Hyland Recording 
Overit Studios 
White Lake Music & Post 

Arts publication (print or new media)

 The Chronicle 
The Collaborative 
NYS Music
Preview (Times Union) 
The Spot 518 

Music Journalist of the Year (print, tv, or new media) 

Amy Biancolli 
Katie Cusack 
Michael Hallisey  
Indiana Nash 
Jim  Shahen 
Tamani  Wooley  

Radio DJ of the Year (terrestrial or streaming) 

Brian and Chrissy – WGNA
 Art Fredette  - RadioRadioX 
Andy Gregory WEXT 
Bill McCann – WCDB 
Jeff Morad – WEQX 
Chris Wienk - WEXT 

Radio Station of the Year (terrestrial or streaming) 


Photographer of the Year 

Frankie Cavone 
Dave DeCresente
Rudy Lu 
Andre Pilarczyk
Shannon Straney 
Kiki  Vassilakis 

Music Video of the Year

Taina Asili “We Are Rising”
Buggy Jive “Another Song About the Moon”
The Clay People – “GenRX”
Front Biz “Little Mutants”
Jocelyn & Chris “Outta My Head”
Joe Mansman and The Midnight Revival Band – “Blood/Grain/Cocaine”
Pencildive “Cricket Man”
Prince Daddy & The Hyena “Lauren”

Record of the Year

Brother Hemlock “Good Ol Days”
TJ Foster “You are the Future”
Gibson Brothers “Cool Drink of Water”
Honey Slider “Ghostlighting”
Charles O’more “Nineteen + Won”
Sam Reed ft. The Heavenly Echos “Prophet”
David Tyo “Long Way Home”
Madison Vandenberg “What I’m Looking for”

Album of the Year

Taina  Asili “Resiliencia”
Bright Dog Red “How’s By you?”
Candy Ambulance  “Traumantic”
The  Figgs “Shady Grove”
JB!! aka Dirty Moses “Libations”
Jim Gaudet “Real  Stories  and Other Tall Tales”
Jocelyn and Chris “The Fun in the Fight”
Prince Daddy and the Hyena “Cosmic Thrill Seekers”