Buggy Jive, Worthley take top Eddies honors

Joe Putrock photo: Sydney Worthley performs during the 2023 Eddies Music Awards.

SCHENECTADY – Soul rock singer-songwriter Buggy Jive took home both the Video and Album of the Year honors at the 5th annual Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards Sunday night at Proctors, and indie pop artist Sydney Worthley received Record of the Year. 

Other big winners at the ceremony were Frank Cavone of Mirth Films who took home three awards, and WEXT and Albany Symphony which each received two. 

The Eddies Music Awards are adjudicated by individuals who are active in the local music community and administered by Proctors Collaborative. 

“In the first five years, we have had over 450 different individuals, bands and organizations nominated, some multiple times, for a total of 950 finalists,” said founder/ co-producer Jim Murphy. “There is a pre-party each year for the nominees. There is an annual Eddies Music Hall of Fame event. We featured over 45 artists performing at our events. All of it exists as a vessel for the music community to come together and celebrate.” 

Since 2021, Eddies judges have also singled out individuals and organizations whose contributions to the music community don’t fit neatly in a traditional category. Merit award winners this year were: 

·     Family Tree, a collective of five musicians (Steve Candlen, Chris Carey, Lori Friday, Kenny Hohman, Chad Ploss) that invite musical guests from the region to participate weekly at their 18-month-and-counting Monday night residency at Putnam Place in Saratoga. 

·     “Courtyard Sessions” by Mirth Films, a 26-episode mini-concert video series featuring local musicians. 

·     Instruments for Students, a program of the Vanguard, a support organization of the Albany Symphony, which has collected hundreds of musical instruments through the years, donating them through schools to families who cannot afford to rent or own their own instruments.

Here are the 2023 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards recipients: 

Live Production Crew of the Year 
Mirth Films 

Presenter/Promoter of the Year 
Caffè Lena – Sarah Craig 

Music Recording Studio of the Year 
Overit Studios 

Record Label of the Year 
Cacophone Records 

Music Journalist of the Year 
Michael Hochanadel 

Music Photographer of the Year 
Frank Cavone 

Arts Publication of the Year 

Radio DJ of the Year (terrestrial or streaming) of the Year 
Chris Wienk (WEXT)

Radio Station of the Year 

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year |
Albany Symphony Orchestra 

World Music Artist of the Year 
Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra 

Jazz Artist of the Year 
Joe Barna 

Electronica Artist of the Year 

Punk/Hardcore Artist of the Year 

Metal/Hard Rock Artist of the Year 
The Clay People 

Merit Award 
Family Tree 
Steve Candlen, Chris Carey, Lori Friday, Kenny Hohman, Chad Ploss 

Merit Award 
Courtyard Sessions 
Mirth Films 

Merit Award 
Instruments for Students
Vanguard – Albany Symphony Orchestra 

R&B/Soul/Funk Artist of the Year 
Victory Soul Orchestra 

DJ of the Year 
DJ Hollyw8d 

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year 
|B. Chaps & Freedom Stratton 

Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year 
Jim Gaudet and The Railroad Boys 

Country Cover Band of the Year 
Stony Creek Band 

Americana Artist of the Year 
Reese Fulmer & The Carriage House Band 

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year (tie)
Drank The Gold 

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year (tie)
Michael Eck 

Alt/Indie Artist of the Year
The Sea The Sea 

Jam Band of the Year |
Annie in the Water 

Blues Artist of the Year 
Nite Train with Thomasina Winslow 

Party Cover Band of the Year 
Off The Record 

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Originals) 

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Covers) 
Steve Candlen 

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year 
Super 400 

Songwriter of the Year
Girl Blue

Music Video of the Year 
Buggy Jive – “Encyclopedia Black and the Case of You” 

Record of the Year 
Sydney Worthley – “How Soon Is Now?” 

Album of the Year 
Buggy Jive – “The Ghost of Alexander”